files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Oct2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
73°F | 50°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
71°F | 55°F | 20%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Six Bears Earn All-Southeast Region Honors PDF Print
Written by Staff Reports   
Wednesday, 05 December 2012 07:34

Six members of the 2012 Lenoir-Rhyne Women's Soccer Team have been selected to the NSCAA/Continental Tire NCAA Division II All-Southeast Region Teams. NSCAA is the National Soccer

Coaches Association of America. Both senior goalkeeper Caitlin Scruggs (Torrance, Calif.) and freshman forward Leah Mullins (Kissimmee, Fla.) were named to the all-region first team for Lenoir-Rhyne.
Scruggs, who also garnered all-region honors in 2010 as well, led the conference in goals-against average (0.49) to go along with eight shutouts and 72 saves while Mullins led the Bears in goals scored (13) and total points (29) this fall.
Mullins was also named the 2012 South Atlantic Conference Freshman Of The Year and the Food Lion SAC Tournament MVP.
Senior midfielder Carley Griffin (Fresno, Calif.), freshman defender Brianna Belsky (Egg Harbour Township, N.J.) and sophomore midfielder Hanna Kiebel (Parker, Colo.) were all named to the NSCAA All-Southeast Region Second Team for the Bears.
Griffin finished with two goals, five assists and nine points this year en route to all-region accolades for the second year in a row while Belsky was named an Honorable Mention All-American by Daktronics last week.
Kiebel, last year's conference freshman of the year, totaled five goals, four assists and 14 points on the season.
Lenoir-Rhyne freshman defender Amber Madriaga (Wailuku, Hawaii) earned Third-Team All-Southeast Region honors by the NSCAA. Madriaga tallied three assists while starting all 20 matches and, along with Belsky, anchored a back line that allowed just 11 goals all season.
All five members were all-league first-team honorees in 2012 and led Lenoir-Rhyne to a 16-2-2 record this year including a 9-0 mark in the South Atlantic Conference.
The Bears also won the SAC Regular Season and Tournament Championships this fall and advanced to the NCAA Division II Playoffs for the third consecutive season.



Photo Courtesy: Caitlin Scruggs, L-R Athletics


2012 NSCAA/Continental Tire NCAA Division II
Women's Soccer All-Southeast Region Teams
First Team
GK - Caitlin Scruggs, Sr., Lenoir-Rhyne University
D - Kansas Bayly, Jr., Columbus State University
D - Mary Dorn, Sr., Lees-McRae College
D - Emily Cattanach, Sr., Armstrong Atlantic State University
D - Fanny Forsman, Sr., University of North Carolina-Pembroke
MF - Nadima Skeff, Sr., Armstrong Atlantic State University
MF - Stephanie Lowery, Sr., Columbus State University
MF - Kelly Penston, Jr. North Georgia College & State University
MF - Alicia Robinson, Jr., Clayton State University
F - Morgan Mitchell, Sr., Armstrong Atlantic State University
F - Jamie Shaw, Sr., Lander University
F - Leah Mullins, Fr., Lenoir-Rhyne University
F - Tramicka James, Sr., Tusculum College


Second Team
GK - Mary Mancin, Sr., Columbus State University
D - Kayla Brown, Sr., Columbus State University
D - Anna Toole, Jr., Catawba College
D - Brianna Belsky, Fr., Lenoir-Rhyne University
D - Danielle Shaw, Jr., Lander University
MF - Hanna Kiebel, So., Lenoir-Rhyne University
MF - Catherine Lovin, Sr., Columbus State University
MF - Carley Griffin, Sr., Lenoir-Rhyne University
MF - Juliana Conte, Jr., Catawba College
F - Kristina Pascutti, Sr., Armstrong Atlantic State University
F - Gabriella Reid, So., Limestone College
F - Ashley Veilleux, So., Georgia College and State University
F - Brooke Foil, Jr., Queens University Of Charlotte
F - Natalia Valentine, Sr., Clayton State University


Third Team
GK - Morgan Luckie, Fr., Armstrong Atlantic State University
D - Kourtney Kavic, Sr., Tusculum College
D - Taylor Lee, Sr., North Georgia College & State University
D - Holli Schwartz, Sr., Limestone College
D - Amber Madriaga, Fr., Lenoir-Rhyne University
MF - Jade Pennock, Fr., University of Montevallo
MF - Silvia Vazquez, Jr., Belmont Abbey College
MF - Kaitlyn Kerrigan, Jr., Lees-McRae College
MF - Cicely Taliaferro, So., North Georgia College & State University
MF - Gabrielle Brodie, So., Newberry College
F - Aaliyah Jackson, Fr., Pfeiffer University
F - Amalia Arvidsson, So., University of North Carolina-Pembroke
F - Sarah Mahar, Fr., Lees-McRae College
F - Rae-Shawna Campbell, Fr., University of North Carolina-Pembroke


Photo Courtesy: Leah Mullins, L-R Athletics

Prev Article In This CategoryNext Article In This Category
Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email