files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
70°F | 53°F | 30%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
58°F | 44°F | 70%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Dorn Paces Bobcat trio On All-Southeast Region Teams PDF Print
Written by Whitney Noble   
Tuesday, 04 December 2012 12:23

Lees-McRae College senior Mary Dorn (Shallotte, N.C.) has been named to the 2012 NSCAA/Continental Tire Women's NCAA Division II all-Southeast Region

teams for the second time in her career, earning a spot on the first team to pace a trio of Bobcats garnering all-region honors, announced NSCAA officials Tuesday.
Dorn earned a spot on the all-region first team for the second consecutive year, leading the Bobcats to their second straight Conference Carolinas regular season title while being named the league's first-ever Defensive Player of the Year. Joining Dorn on the all-region teams were junior midfielder Kaitlyn Kerrigan (Lakewood Ranch, Fla.) and freshman forward Sarah Mahar (Jacksonville, Fla.), who each earned a spot on the third team.
Lenoir-Rhyne University paced the region with six student-athletes on the all-region teams, as Columbus State University and Armstrong Atlantic State University each placed five players on the squad. Lees-McRae led the way for Conference Carolinas with three selections, while Limestone College added two. Queens University of Charlotte, Belmont Abbey College and Pfeiffer University each placed one student-athlete on the all-region teams.
Dorn enjoyed one of the best seasons of her storied tenure with the Bobcats this fall, directing the backline to four clean sheets in conference play while recording two goals and two assists. The senior defender has helped Lees-McRae record 27 shutouts in her career, including 12 clean sheets in 2010 to lead the Bobcats to the program's first-ever Conference Carolinas Tournament title and the school's first berth in the NCAA Tournament.
This is the second time Kerrigan has earned all-region honors this season, adding an NSCAA all-Southeast Region third team selection to her spot on the Daktronics all-region second team. The Lakewood Ranch, Fla. native capped a strong regular season with her first career all-conference nod, earning a spot on the first team after leading the league with six assists in conference play. Kerrigan also tallied three goals against league opponents, including a pair of match-winners against Barton College and Mount Olive College.
Mahar put together an outstanding freshman campaign with the Bobcats, scoring a team-high six goals in the regular season to earn a spot on the all-conference first team. A native of Jacksonville, Fla., Mahar posted perhaps the best performance of her young career this past Monday, pouring in her first collegiate hat trick in the "Blizzard Bowl" against King College in the opening round of the conference tournament.
Lees-McRae is expected to return to 18 letter-winners from this year's Conference Carolinas regular season championship squad, including rising seniors Kerrigan, Alicia Pierson (Brooksville, Fla.), LeeAnn Sullivan (Greensboro, N.C.), and MaryBeth Sullivan (Greensboro, N.C.).


2012 NSCAA/Continental Tire NCAA Division II Women's Soccer all-Southeast Region Teams


First Team  

GK Caitlin Scruggs Sr.Lenoir-Rhyne
D Kansas Bayly Jr.Columbus State
D Mary Dorn Sr.Lees-McRae
D Emily Cattanach Sr.Armstrong Atlantic
D Fanny Forsman Sr.UNC Pembroke
MF Nadima Skeff Sr.Armstrong Atlantic
MF Stephanie Lowery Sr.Columbus State
MF Kelly Penston Jr.North Georgia
MF Alicia Robinson Jr.Clayton State
F Morgan Mitchell Sr.Armstrong Atlantic
F Jamie Shaw Sr.Lander
F Leah Mullins Fr.Lenoir-Rhyne
F Tramicka James Sr.Tusculum


Second Team  

GK Mary Mancin Sr.Columbus State
D Kayla Brown Sr.Columbus State
D Anna Toole Jr.Catawba
D Brianna Belskey Fr.Lenoir-Rhyne
D Danielle Shaw Jr.Lander
MF Hannah Kiebel So.Lenoir-Rhyne
MF Catherine Lovin Sr.Columbus State
MF Carley Griffin Sr.Lenoir-Rhyne
MF Juliana Conte Jr.Catawba
F Kristina Pascutti Sr.Armstrong Atlantic
F Gabriella Reid So.Limestone
F Ashley Veilleux So.Georgia College & State
F Brooke Foil Jr.Queens (N.C.)
F Natalia Valentine Sr.Clayton State


Third Team  

GK Morgan Luckie Fr.Armstrong Atlantic
D Kourtney Kavic Sr.Tusculum
D Taylor Lee Sr.North Georgia
D Holli Schwartz Sr.Limestone
D Amber Madriaga Fr.Lenoir-Rhyne
MF Jade Pennock Jr.Montevallo
MF Silvia Vazquez Jr.Belmont Abbey
MF Kaitlyn Kerrigan Jr.Lees-McRae
MF Cicely Taliaferffo So.North Georgia
MF Gabrielle Brodie So.Newberry
F Aaliyah Jackson Fr.Pfeiffer
F Amalia Arvidsson So.UNC Pembroke
F Sarah Mahar Fr.Lees-McRae
F Rae-Shawna Campbell Fr.UNC Pembroke


Photo Courtesy: Mary Dorn, LMC Athletics


Prev Article In This CategoryNext Article In This Category
Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email