files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
70°F | 49°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
71°F | 52°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
files/facebook banner farmer.jpg
files/Pet Patrol Banner.jpg
New Watauga Commission; Same Majority PDF Print
Written by Steve Frank   
Tuesday, 04 December 2012 08:03

In a day of smiles and handshakes across the political aisle as new boards were seated, there were pretty fast reminders that politics is still partisan. New Watauga Commissioners Billy Kennedy, John Welch, and Perry Yates took their seats, and after a unanimous vote to return Nathan Miller to the chairman seat, a nomination for Welch, one of the two Democrats, quickly fell to a partisan vote, 2 to 3. Then Republican David Blust was elected vice Chairman in what was initially a 4-1 vote, with John Welch later changing his vote to make the decision unanimous.
In other county business, tax issues were presented to the board by now new Tax Supervisor Larry Warren, selected to that position after the hiring process saw a number of candidates considered. Warren was chosen after Kelvin Byrd left Watauga after over a quarter century of service for the tax position in Rowan County.

Prev Article In This CategoryNext Article In This Category
Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email