files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
66°F | 42°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
60°F | 38°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Coakley To Enter College Football HOF PDF Print
Written by MIke Kelly   
Tuesday, 24 May 2011 12:25

Dexter Coakley, the first and only two-time winner of the Buck Buchanan Award, will be inducted into the College Football Hall Of Fame.


Coakley highlights the 2011 divisional class for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, announced on Tuesday. Coakley will be inducted during the Hall's festival July 15-16 in South Bend, IN. The National Football Foundation began its divisional Hall Of Fame in 1996 (for Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III and National Associaiton of Iintercollegiate Athletics schools). And with the addition of this year's induction class, the Hall now has 896 players and 192 coaches among its members.
The 2011 Class includes: Coakley, Charles Haley of James Madison (1982-85), center Mike Favor of North Dakota State (1985-88) and the late Mickey Kobroasky of Trinity (Connecticut, 1933-36).
Among the coaches to be inducted are Mike Kelly, who had a 246-54-1 record (.819) at the University of Dayton from 1981-2007; and Bill Manlove, who was 212-111-1 (.655) at three Pennsylvania schools, Widener (1969-91), Delaware Valley (1992-95) and La Salle (1997-2001).
Coakley, a three-time defensive player of the year in the Southern Conference, played for Appalachian STate University from 1993-96. He was also the SoCon Freshman of the Year in 1993, and he backboned a stingy defense in 1995 that led ASU to the SoCon championship and to its only undefeated and untied regular season. And he remains ASU’s all-time leader in total tackles (616), solo tackles (350), assisted tackles (266), double-figure tackle games (37) and 20-tackle games (7).
Coakley won the Buck Buchanan Award, which goes to the best defensive player in the country at the FCS level, in 1994 and 1995. He also played ten years in the National Football League for the Dallas Cowboys and the St. Louis Rams. A third-round draft choice of the Cowboys in 1996, Coakley also played in three Pro Bowls.
Former All-Pro quarterback Archie Manning is chairman for the National Football Foundation/College Football Hall Of Fame.


Prev Article In This CategoryNext Article In This Category
Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email