High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
51°F | 65°F | 60%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
40°F | 62°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Smith, LeGree named First Team TSN All-Americans PDF Print
Written by Mike Kelly   
Thursday, 23 December 2010 13:05

Linebacker D.J. Smith and defensive back Mark LeGree of Appalachian State were named first-team All-Americans by The Sports Network.


Smith led the Southern Conference and was ranked fifth nationally in tackles with 144. Also, His 525 career tackles are the most among any Division I player (FBS or FCS) active in 2010 and rank No. 4 in SoCon history. Smith also became just the second player in Mountaineers history to surpass the 500- tackle barrier, joining former standout Dexter Coakley. The 2010 campaign also saw Smith rack up 4.5 tackles for loss, two sacks, one interception and one fumble recovery.
LeGree, a three-time first-team TSN selection, finished his career with 22 intercetions, ranking him second all-time in SoCon history and third in school history. LeGree had five interceptions, 13 pass deflections and 49 solo tackles this past season for the Mountaineers.
ASU Quarterback DeAndre Presley of the Mountaineers was also selected to the All-American team, but the order of the All-American quarterbacks (first team, second team, third team) will be released after the unveiling of the Walter Payton Award. Presley, Western Illinois senior Matt Barr and Jeremy Moses of Stephen F. Austin have been invited to the national awards banquet on Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas.
Presley was named the SoCon Offensive Player of the Year. He racked more than 35-hundred yards offensively (2,631 passing; 1,039 rushing). He also scored 13 touchdowns and threw 21 touchdown passes. Presley had a 141.8 quarterback efficiency rating and he completed 61% of his passes. Presley was only intercepted seven times  in 343 pass attempts.
Those numbers propelled ASU to a 10-3 record and a trip to the national quaterfinals. Defensive end Jabari Fletcher was a second-team TSN All-American selection. Fletcher had 60 tackles, 16.5 tackles-for-loss and nine quarterback sacks. He also forced three fumbles, recovered four (returning one for a touchdown) and he had an interception. Fletcher was also named a first-team All-American selection by the Associated Press and the Walter Camp Foundation.

Eric Breitenstein of Wofford College was also named a first-team All-American at running back. The former Watauga High great rambled for 1,639 yards and scored 22 touchdowns. That effort carried Wofford into the national quarterfinals, where the Terriers were eventually eliminated by SoCon foe, Georgia Southern.
Stephen F. Austin paced all schools with five All-America selections; The Big Sky Conference led with 16 selections, while CAA Football was second with 13. The Missouri Valley and Southern conferences had nine each.
The national championship game will be played Friday, January 7 in Frisco, TX. Delaware, making its third appearance in the national title game and looking for its first championship since 2003, takes on Eastern Washington.


The 2010 The Sports Network/ FCS All-America Team





FIRST-TEAM OFFENSE: QB - Matt Barr, Western Illinois, Sr., or Jeremy Moses, Stephen F. Austin, Sr., or DeAndre Presley, Appalachian State, Jr.; RB - Nate Eachus, Colgate, Sr.; Henry Harris, Southeast Missouri State, Sr. FB - Eric Breitenstein, Wofford, Jr. WR - Tysson Poots, Southern Utah, Sr.; Chris Summers, Liberty, Jr.; Raymond Webber, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Sr. TE - Andrew Kennedy, Columbia, Sr. OT - Ben Ijalana, Villanova, Sr.; Mike Person, Montana State, Sr. OG - David Arkin, Missouri State, Sr.; Pat Illig, Wofford, Sr. C - Chris Powers, Eastern Washington, Jr. PK - Matt Bevins, Liberty, Jr. KR - Gralyn Crawford, Stephen F. Austin, So.




FIRST-TEAM DEFENSE: DE - Mario Kurn, San Diego, Jr.; Ameet Pall, Wofford, Jr. DT - Martin Parker, Richmond, Sr.; Brandon Peguese, Hampton, Sr. LB - Kyle Glazier, Western Illinois, Sr.; Tyler Holmes, Massachusetts, Jr.; J.C. Sherritt, Eastern Washington, Sr.; D.J. Smith, Appalachian State, Sr. CB - Jarard Cribbs, Lehigh, Sr.; Trumaine Johnson, Montana, Jr. S - Eugene Clifford, Tennessee State, Sr.; Mark LeGree, Appalachian State, Sr. P - John Prelvitz, North Dakota State, Sr. PR - Shawn Abuhoff, Dartmouth, Jr.




SECOND-TEAM OFFENSE: QB - Matt Barr, Western Illinois, Sr., or Jeremy Moses, Stephen F. Austin, Sr., or DeAndre Presley, Appalachian State, Jr. RB - Taiwan Jones, Eastern Washington, Jr.; Frank Warren, Grambling State, Sr. FB - Vai Tafuna, Weber State, Sr. WR - Marcus Harris, Murray State, Sr.; Cordell Roberson, Stephen F. Austin, Sr.; Lito Senatus, Western Illinois, Sr. TE - Alex Gottlieb, William & Mary, Jr. OT - Keith Hill Jr., William & Mary, Sr.; Curt Porter, Jacksonville State, Sr. OG - Frank Knights, Southeast Missouri, Sr.; J.C. Oram, Weber State, Jr. C - Ryan McKnight, South Dakota State, Sr. PK - Jason Cunningham, Montana State, Jr. KR - Jeremy Caldwell, Eastern Kentucky, Jr.




SECOND-TEAM DEFENSE: DE - Jabari Fletcher, Appalachian State, Sr.; Zack Nash, Sacramento State, Jr. DT - Kendrick Ellis, Hampton, Sr.; Brent Russell, Georgia Southern, So. LB - Matt Evans, New Hampshire, So.; Eric McBride, Richmond, Sr., Derek Rose, Northwestern State, So., A.J. Storms, Idaho State, Jr. CB - Korey Lindsey, Southern Illinois, Sr.; Dino Vasso, New Hampshire, Sr. S - Kejuan Riley, Alabama State, So.; James Vercammen, Dayton, Sr. P - David Harrington, Idaho State, Jr. PR - Dontrelly Johnson, Murray State, Jr.




THIRD-TEAM OFFENSE: QB - Matt Barr, Western Illinois, Sr., or Jeremy Moses, Stephen F. Austin, Sr., or DeAndre Presley, Appalachian State, Jr. RB - Kyle Minnett, South Dakota State, Sr.; Andrew Pierce, Delaware, Fr. FB - Kendall Gaskins, Richmond, So. WR - Joe Collins, Weber State, Sr.; Aaron Mellette, Elon, So.; Ryan Spadola, Lehigh, So. TE - Shadrae King, Robert Morris, Jr. OT - Johnny Culbreath, South Carolina State, Sr.; Will Rackley, Lehigh, Sr. OG - Luis Ruffolo, Penn, Sr.; Kris Poindexter, Northern Arizona, Sr. C - Sean Middleton, Southeast Missouri State, Sr. PK - Ian Vance, Georgia State, Sr. KR - Larrone Moore, Delaware State, Sr.




THIRD-TEAM DEFENSE: DE - Kenneth Charles, Stephen F. Austin, Sr.; Dain Taylor, Drake, Sr. DT - Andre Caroll, Delaware State, Sr.; Dan Ogden, Montana State, Sr. LB - Dejuan Fulghum, Texas Southern, Jr.; Jer-ryan Harris, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Fr.; Antoine WIlkinson, Missouri State, Sr.; Jabara Williams, Stephen F. Austin, Sr. CB - Asa Jackson, Cal Poly, Jr.; Justin Rogers, Richmond, Jr. S - Anthony Bratton, Delaware, Sr.; Matt Johnson, Eastern Washington, Jr. P - David Miller, William & Mary, Sr. PR - Tavoy Moore, Idaho State, Jr.




Note: Quarterback will be released after the unveiling of the 2010 Walter Payton Award on Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas. The final candidates are Matt Barr of Western Illinois, Jeremy Moses of Stephen F. Austin and DeAndre Presley of Appalachian State.




Prev Article In This CategoryNext Article In This Category
Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email