files/MDTB-GBR490x110-Sept2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
42°F | 61°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
39°F | 60°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Pioneers Have Four All-Conference Selections PDF Print
Written by Mike Kelly   
Saturday, 04 December 2010 11:42

The Watauga High football team had four players named to the Northwestern 3A/4A All-Conference team on Friday.

Jacob Gilliam, Mo Gore, Trey Kavanaugh and Jordan Pineda were the all-conference selections. Gore was also named the Special Teams Player of the Year. Alexander Central, which won the conference championship, had 12 all-conference choices. Hibriten, which lost to West Rowan in the Western finals, had ten selections. West Rowan defeated Hibriten 20-14 in the Class 3A Western Championship game.
Kaylen Pearson of Hibriten was named the Offensive Player of the Year, Stephen Burns of Alexander Central was the Defensive Player of the Year, and Butch Carter of South Caldwell was the Coach of the Year.
Gore led the Pioneers in receiving and scoring, he also averaged 33 yard a punt. Ten of his punts were downed inside the 20, and he had two punts of more than 50 yards, including a school-record 71 yarder. He also had 396 all-purpose yards.
Kavanaugh led the PIoneers in kick-off and punt return yardage and was second on the team in receiving; Jacob Gilliam had 67 tackles, 13.5 tackles-for-loss and two quarterback sacks. He also forced three fumbles; and Pineda led the Pioneers with 90 tackles, 16.5 tackles-for-loss, six quarterback sacks, he forced four fumbles and recovered three.


NW3A/4A All Conference Team:

Hibriten:    Azell Harshaw                Alexander:  Kyle Kinnaird
            Marcus Barnes                             Zach Bumgarner
            Michael Isbell                             Logan Thomas
            Kaylen Pearson                             Jacob Winkler
            Ethan Anderson                         Stephen Burns
            Tripp Patterson                             Dustin Anderson
            Jonathan Greene                         Josh Mecimore
            Aaron Frye                             Nathan Birkedal
            Jacolby Stanley                             Jesus Morales
            Will Hinman                             Taylor Pennell
                                                 Zach Latham
                                                         Caleb Price
South:  Devin Potter                    Hickory:  Michael Payne
     Wyll Baker                                     Deangelo Mouzon
     David Church                                         Ryan Tyree
     Kevin Jones                                     Kyree Connor
     Brandon Ervin                                         Jaesean Abernathy
     Cory Bolick                                     Kyle Johnson
     Ethan Clark                                     Tobias Wimbush
     Austin Sigler                         

Watauga:  Jacob Gilliam                St. Stephens:  Dale Huffman
                 Mo Gore                                          Franklin Jefferies
                 Trey Kavanaugh                             Tanner Miller
                 Jordan Pineda                             Dyson Littlejohn
                                                                          Jeff Ellis

Fred T. Foard:   Tanner Fleming
             Cole Schanilec
             Tre Robinson

Offensive Player of the Year: 
Kaylen Pearson                    Hibriten

Defensive Player of the Year: 
Stephen Burns                    Alexander Central

Special Teams Player of the Year: 
Mo Gore                        Watauga

Coach of the Year:   
Butch Carter                        South Caldwell

Prev Article In This CategoryNext Article In This Category
Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email