files/MDSB-GBR490x110-Oct2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
70°F | 53°F | 30%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
58°F | 44°F | 70%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
Men’s Basketball Picked to Repeat as SoCon North Champion PDF Print
Written by Charles Cochrum   
Thursday, 28 October 2010 18:06

Following last season’s 24 wins and Tournament appearance, Appalachian State University men’s basketball was selected to repeat as SoCon North Division champion in 2010-11, according to a vote by the league’s coaches.

Senior Donald Sims (Gaffney, S.C./Fork Union) was selected to the preseason all-SoCon squad.
Head coach Jason Capel’s experienced Mountaineer squad received 9-of-12 first-place votes and 64 total points to take the division, ahead of Western Carolina, which received the remaining three first-place votes and 54 points. Chattanooga was picked third with 49 points, followed by UNC Greensboro (31), Elon (29) and Samford (21).
Wofford earned 10 first-place votes and 65 total points to be selected first in the South, followed by College of Charleston with 54 points and the two remaining five-place votes. Davidson (49), The Citadel (29), Furman (26) and Georgia Southern (23) round out the division.
2010 Southern Conference Malcolm U. Pitt Player of the Year Sims was ASU’s only honoree on the list of 10 players, while CofC’s Andrew Goudelock was named the preseason Player of the Year for a second season in a row.
College of Charleston, Davidson and Wofford each placed two players on the squad, while The Citadel, Elon and Furman joined ASU with one each.
Mountaineer fans have the opportunity to meet the division favorites on Friday evening from 7-9 p.m. at the Holmes Center for Mountaineer Madness, before the Apps play their first competition of the season next week. ASU then hosts Lees-McRae for its lone exhibiton game on Thursday, November 4 at 7 p.m.
The regular season tips off on Nov. 12 at Tulsa.


SoCon Men’s Basketball Predicted Order of Finish


Team (1st Place Votes) Total


North Division
1. Appalachian State (9) 64
2. Western Carolina (3) 52
3. Chattanooga 49
4. UNCG 31
5. Elon 29
6. Samford 21



South Division
1. Wofford (10) 65 
2. College of Charleston (2) 54
3. Davidson 49
4. The Citadel 29
5. Furman 26
6. Georgia Southern  23



2010-11 Preseason All-Conference Team


Jake Cohen, Davidson
Noah Dahlman, Wofford
Jamar Diggs, Wofford
Andrew Goudelock, College of Charleston
JP Kuhlman, Davidson
Amu Saaka, Furman
Jeremy Simmons, College of Charleston
Donald Sims, Appalachian State
Drew Spradlin, Elon
Cameron Wells, The Citadel


2010-11 Preseason Player of the Year

Andrew Goudelock, College of Charleston

Prev Article In This CategoryNext Article In This Category
Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email