files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
69°F | 53°F | 30%
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
58°F | 44°F | 70%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
UPDATED: WHS Volleyball Wins Playoff Opener PDF Print
Written by Mike Kelly   
Saturday, 23 October 2010 17:17

The Watauga High volleyball team won its post-season opener in convincing fashion on Saturday afternoon at Lentz-Eggers Gym.

The Pioneers (24-3 overall), the No.1 seed from the Northwestern 3A/4A Conference, defeated North Mecklenburg (8-16 and the No.4 seed from the I-Meck Conference) in a three-game sweep in the first round of the Class 4A of the state playoffs. The Pioneers, who were never seriously challenged in the match, won 25-17, 25-8, 25-14. The win moves WHS into a second-round game against McDowell on Tuesday night at home.

McDowell (16-11) advanced on Saturday by knocking off South Meck 3-0 down in Marion.
"It's a relief to finally get that first playoff win behind us," said WHS coach  Kris Hagaman. "I thought we came out well prepared and got the job done."
The Pioneers featured a balanced attack. Senior Bailey Hagaman, who was named the NW 3A/4A Offensive Player of the Year, led the way with 31 assists, four digs and three kills. Colby Combs and Hannah Stewart, who were named to the NW3A/4A All-Conference squad, each had ten kills.
"Bailey makes us go, no doubt about it," Hagaman said.  "And our front line is very strong. There's a lot of people we can count on up there. We did a good job moving the ball around. I was impressed with North Meck. They had some good players, but they just broke down during  the course of the match."
Brooke Rhoades, an all-conference selection, had four kills and eight blocks; Channing Hagaman, who was named Honorable Mention All-Conference, had eight kills and 12 digs; Sylar Hicks had nine digs.
NOTES: The Pioneers had four all-conference selections: Bailey Hagaman, who was also the Offensive Player of the Year, Brooke Rhoades, Hannah Stewart and  Colby Combs. Channing Hagaman was named honorable mention.

Prev Article In This CategoryNext Article In This Category
Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email