files/toyota.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
76°F | 60°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
76°F | 65°F | 30%
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
13 Local Teachers Win Continuing Education Funds PDF Print
Written by Christie James   
Tuesday, 20 March 2007 01:28

Thirteen Watauga County teachers have received funds to help support their continuing education. They are recipients of the Price Deverick Scholarships for Professional Development sponsored by Blue Ridge Electric Membership Corporation and the Watauga Education Foundation.

Teachers are required to update their education throughout their careers in order to stay up to date with the latest discoveries and teaching techniques. The Price Deverick scholarship fund was created in memory of Mr. Gwen B. Price of Avery County. Price is one of BREMCO’s founding directors and an educator and principle for 28 years. And, for Barbara Deverick of Caldwell County, who was on the board of Caldwell Community College and Chairman of the Caldwell County School board.

 Price Deverick Scholarship Winners as supplied by The Watauga Education Foundation:

Hunter Wall (Bethel Elementary)

Mike Combs, Dane Johnson (Watauga High School)

Barbara Linville (Hardin Park Elementary)

Tammy Gragg (Parkway Elementary)

Jeanne Hawkins (Hardin Park and Bethel Elementaries)

Chad Safferstone (Hardin Park and Blowing Rock Elementaries)

Kim Houck, Steven Ward, Amy Eberle, Debbie Glover, Jennifer Woods, Deanna Holiday

Prev Article In This CategoryNext Article In This Category
Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email