files/MDSB-GBR490x110-July-2015.jpg files/0 (4).jpg
High Country News, Weather, and Bulletins

Todays ForecastToday:
56°F | 81°F | %
Tomorrows ForecastTomorrow:
55°F | 80°F | %
  Swap Shop Online
Home Sports Weather Classifieds Jobs Real Estate Autos
High Country Audubon Announces Research Grant PDF Print
Written by Steve Frank   
Thursday, 12 June 2014 05:54

High Country Audubon Society (HCAS) is pleased to announce a grant opportunity to support bird research in the High Country of North Carolina.  HCAS is the local chapter of the National Audubon Society and Audubon North Carolina, serving Watauga, Ashe, Wilkes, Alleghany and Avery counties. The Sue Wells Research Grant will award up to $500 to a high school or college student to support research or field work in ornithology, or in an area of study that will directly benefit birds or bird habitat in this area of North Carolina.  Only undergraduate or graduate students currently enrolled in degree-seeking programs or high school students may apply.

The Sue Wells Research Grant was created in 2012 to support local students involved in bird research in the High Country.  The first award went to Jessica Krippel, a Master of Science student at Western Carolina University. Jessica is using her grant to support her research of song sparrow mating success.

In 2013 HCAS selected Morgan Harris, a graduate student at Appalachian State University, as the recipient of the Sue Wells Research Grant. Morgan has been looking at reproductive pressures on local eastern bluebirds resulting from tree swallows moving into their territories.

The late Sue Wells was a driving force in the creation of High Country Audubon Society and served on the Board of Trustees until 2010.  Sue was also instrumental in creating the National Bird-Feeding Society and led the movement to help make backyard bird feeding the successful hobby it is today.

Grant information and application are available at

Applications are due by June 30, 2014 and the winner will be announced by mid-July at the HCAS annual membership meeting.  

Prev ArticleNext Article
Share This Article:
Facebook Twitter Pinterest Email